Not Just Another Book Blog

Why this isn’t just another Book Blog.

Before you say it, this is not just another Book Blog. I hope to guide you in your choices, provide you with some laughs and by writing about my reading habits as a Mum of two, which as many of you will know is a wide ranging profession. As I know reading time is scarce for most Mums, I hope my suggestions will point you in the direction of those books well worth dedicating what precious little spare time you may have.

Being a bit bookish, I love my reading but I’ve learned to become very efficient with choices and my reading pace since the kidlets have come along. I’ve worked my way through the Dymocks 101 before (excluding the Bible, because, well it’s the Bible! – back in that hazy time known as pre-kids; a time for which I can no longer remember what I used to do to fill my days) and now since my days are filled with decisions as to which meals have the best chance of not ending up on the ground; which activities will result in the least amount of mess and the longest level of entertainment; which cupboard is the dustiest and whether or not your hair can be dirty for another day, making my way through the already compiled 101 list provides a nice break from decision making.

Since I’m doubtless not the only Mum who has worked hard and dedicated every spare snippet of time to a book that ultimately ended being a little underwhelming, I’m going to walk you through the 2017 Dymocks 101 (sometimes crawl, sometimes run, depending on how the kids sleep and how much work there is to be done!) and hopefully help you choose your next read.

I’ve been thinking about this for some time but since I have a rainy day, a sleeping 2.5 year old and 10 month old I’ve finally decided to put down my book (currently a re-read of Wuthering Heights), get up off my lounge which has, of late, become indented with the distinct impression of my butt in the repose of only someone reclining to read would recognize, and tell you about what we, me and my family, are all reading.

I’ll give you my thoughts on the books on the list as I progress through them, but since a large majority of my time is dedicated to the family, there’ll be a little bit about them too!

 

Author: ReadingMumma

I'm a Mum of 2 who loves reading (when I can find the time!). I'm embarking on the challenge of reading the 2017 Dymocks top 101.

Leave a Reply

