Reading to the Kids

My kids have A LOT of books. Sometimes there is a new one here and there that makes it into the inner sanctum of the favourites on rotation however V1 is pretty reliable with his favourites. For those of you who have also read The Gruffalo so many times you’ve begun to give the snake, fox and owl actual personalities and wonder at why they didn’t just snap the mouse up quickly and scuttle away, rereading their favourites can be a tedious thing.

I’ve now discovered there is a light at the end of the Hungry Caterpillar, Room on the Broom, Gruffalo and Thomas speckled tunnel. V1 still loves to read all of these but now he has starting doing the sweetest ‘reading’ himself. He tries to inject a little bit of emotion and excitement as he recites (I say recites because if I can remember it from start to finish, it’s only sensible that so can he!) his favourite bits. It makes the repetition and monotony of reading the same thing day in and out, completely worth it.

While I will revisit a great book perhaps once or twice after the initial read, there are few that I would consider revisiting. This is not the case for kids. It’s amazing to watch V1’s face light up in wonder on every page, even though he knows them inside out and it’s most likely the third time we’ve read the book, in the same sitting. I love that kids can be entertained so easily by the books they love over and over again and can’t wait for him to read his favourites to me, over and over again. Maybe then when he gets to the end of each book I will be just like him and issue the request – ‘again?’.

Author: ReadingMumma

I'm a Mum of 2 who loves reading (when I can find the time!). I'm embarking on the challenge of reading the 2017 Dymocks top 101.

Leave a Reply

