The Current Favourites for the Kids

I know I haven’t written about what I’m currently reading, but my own reading time has been cut into by an immense amount of cooking and housework (I’m feeling the pinch as my return to work date approaches and I keep thinking I can get ahead with everything- which would of course work if my kids didn’t have such healthy (and messy) appetites!!)

Nevertheless, reading time with the kids has not been in decline but rather, given the poor weather we’ve had, it’s on the increase! Quite enjoyably we have returned back to Julia Donaldson’s Room on the Broom as the current favourite (he loves watching the movie version almost as much!) and he’s getting very good at reciting his favourite bits. A relatively new book has also moved into the rotation being Bob Darroch’s Time for Bed, Little Kiwi. It’s a lift the flap book (the best kind!) delivering a surprise native NZ animal  on every page (Stewie the Tui is his favourite). However, the little kiwi didn’t hide on the last page so every time we get to the end I am forced to explain that page doesn’t open like the rest as he pleads with me ‘open it, open it’. It’s the little things. It’s a very nice bedtime book, with a nice segway for being told that it is, in fact, time to sleep!

V2 is currently enjoying Dr Seuss’s Mr Brown Can Moo, Can You? She loved it so much that this is our second copy. Apparently the first was too delicious to resist. Given it was hardcover, the cover is all that remains of copy #1. Copy #2 may not fare so well given it’s just a flimsy cardboard cover so while I diligently perfect my cow, bumblebee, sausage, horn and clock sounds, amongst other things, V2 diligently snacks her way to the end of the book, one dog ear at a time. (I should clarify that once a few pages have been unceremoniously torn and half consumed, I remove the book from her reach and it is returned to the shelf, as a memento of this time!)

 

Author: ReadingMumma

I'm a Mum of 2 who loves reading (when I can find the time!). I'm embarking on the challenge of reading the 2017 Dymocks top 101.

Leave a Reply

