The List is Here!

I’m excited to see the Dymocks 2017 top 101 list is now out (over 140k total votes in both rounds, according to Dymocks and 29 Aussie authors) and there are a few new titles on there, along with quite a few I’ve already read.  Anthony Doer All The Light We Cannot See is in the #1 spot, knocking Markus Zusak’s The Book Thief  into #2! I’m looking forward to re-reading both with a closer eye.

The list was a little different than when I last worked through it in 2011, but I’m pleased there are a few of my favourites such as Pride and Prejudice (Jane Austen), Jane Eyre (Charlotte Bronte), Harry Potter, (JK Rowling), The Passage (Justin Cronin) and The Millennium Trilogy (Stieg Larsson) on the list. The Bible isn’t there. Which certainly makes my job a little easier.

I’ve noticed a few from the 2011 list that I found I unexpectedly loved that haven’t returned: War and Peace (Leo Tolstoy), Dracula (Bram Stoker), and Little Women (Louisa May Alcott) to name just a few. These three in particular I recommend dedicating the time to – if you have it, that is.

I’m not sure I agree with all of the choices for those that made it (but that’s the beauty of a vote!) as I can see a few on there which I’ve already tried to read, but failed for various reasons:

  • I found the language in Casual Vacancy (JK Rowling) just a little too much for me to handle – yes, yes I’m a bit of a prude!
  • I tried I Am Pilgrim (Terry Hayes) right after v1 was born so spent the entire half of the book that I actually did read imagining him being affected by someone as violent as the main character. I couldn’t push myself to finish it!
  • While I know The Sellout (Paul Beatty) is the Booker winner and it is satire I also found the tone just too much satire for me to handle. Perhaps it was the mood I was in (right after V2 was born).

Nevertheless, all will be given a second chance for the purposes of completeness in this year’s list and I’ve not doubt I’ll find some gems that I would never have looked at, were it not for the votes of other Booklovers.

I won’t produce the full list here but you can browse through on the Dymocks site here: https://www.dymocks.com.au/top-101 .

I best get to reading (and book shopping!!)!

 

Author: ReadingMumma

I'm a Mum of 2 who loves reading (when I can find the time!). I'm embarking on the challenge of reading the 2017 Dymocks top 101.

Leave a Reply

