Always Connected

I’m taking a brief break from reading (still Red Queen (Victoria Aveyard) and loving it!), to glance around my train.

16 people in the carriage. 14 glancing down at various devices. 13 mobile phones and 1 E-Reader.

I remember not so long ago when sometimes on the train or bus you had time to ponder your own thoughts.  Not read about someone else’s latest fitness trend on Facebook or which celebrity is cheating on their other half. Now when you ride the train, or even in walking to the train you barely make eye contact with everyone else (and more often than not you’ll run into someone who is watching their phone, not their path – I am guilty of this all too often). I know most people are tending to various important matters that can’t wait because of our schedules, just like me.

I sometimes make myself feel better about ignoring everyone since I’m reading a book on the train instead of perusing various social media sites. But I’m not sure it’s any different !

Indeed it makes me wonder why it’s socially acceptable to wander around the streets with eyes glued to whichever phone/tablet you are attached to. If you did it with a book you’d get some stares. (I’ve tried!)

One of the reasons I like reading actual physical books instead of an E-Reader, is because of how much time we already spend on our devices. It’s nice to give your eyes a rest from the lighting on the device and it means when you read, no alerts interrupt you!

That and I’ve always thought it is important for the kids to see us reading actual books to encourage them to do the same ! (Plus I love the feel of physically churning through the pages).  We are lucky the kids share our love of books but it’s something we will always encourage.

 

Author: ReadingMumma

I'm a Mum of 2 who loves reading (when I can find the time!). I'm embarking on the challenge of reading the 2017 Dymocks top 101.

Leave a Reply

