The Red Queen (Victoria Aveyard)

It’s so nice to read a book that is just easy ! This one reminded me of being a a carefree late teen, early 20 something (though I’m not sure my friends and family would ever have described me as ‘carefree’ as such!) Granted it is Young Adult fantasy so it’s about as fun as it gets !

Mare is a common girl, a Red. She can’t find a job and she thieves to get by, however she knows she will be conscripted to fight the Silver’s war when she turns 18 unless she can find a job, or run away. When she tries to pickpocket enough to pay for her and her best friend’s stowaway fee, she falls into trouble and ends up in the Silver Palace – in a very high and heavily scrutinized position. The Silvers are special by their Silver blood and their super human powers but they are scared of what Mare, a Red, can do. Her powers present them with a problem as she is BOTH Red and Silver.

She is trained to become a politicial and physical weapon for the Silvers. She is their puppet for their propoganda campaign and she soon decides she can no longer stay inactive while her Red friends and family suffer. She discovers and joins the Resistance becoming one of their most important assets.

This book had the perfect balance of romance (there’s a hint of a love quadrangle!), action (though it did feel a little like Hunger games with the Arena Fights), Court intrigue and plot twists. Though some of the plot twists were a little predictable there were more than a couple that took me delightfully by surprise (leading to a few nights later than my 8.30pm, mum of 2 kids bedtime!)

This was the debut for Victoria Aveyard and New York Times Bestseller –  I’m already considering deviating from the Dymocks 101 list because I enjoyed this one so much and I’d love to read the next book – Glass Sword. Red Queen doesn’t tell you WHY Mare is different and I’d be interested to see the explanation. Perhaps a Silver Uncle or evolution – either way I remain intrigued ! But I will stick to the list for now, and revisit the series when I’m done.

In summary, this one is an easy, enjoyable read that you can put down and pick up easily, with allowed an easy escape from the ‘grind’ (a must for busy mums!)

Author: ReadingMumma

I'm a Mum of 2 who loves reading (when I can find the time!). I'm embarking on the challenge of reading the 2017 Dymocks top 101.

Leave a Reply

