Happy Mother’s Day!

I hope you all managed to find some time to:

a. relax

b. read

c. eat chocolate

d. treat yourself

e. spend some quality time with your family; and

f. all of the above.

Mine was a little mix of all of the above. After completely losing my skittles on Saturday after a huge work and Mum week, I was clearly in need of f. All of the above.

Feeling almost like I was losing the battle of balance, at 5.22am on Sunday morning, I felt like I was about to lose the war. V1 had ‘lost’ his dummy and with a voice in a decibel that only parents with a toddler will understand, asked us where it was. Right outside V2’s door.  Thus awakening the dog, us and, more problematically, V2. V1 went back to bed (in our bed of course), the dog and my better half ventured out for their morning ritual walk and I tried to ignore V2’s early morning gabbing. V1 typically slept soundly.

At 5.30am I gave up and prepped the Weetbix for V2.  Which she slapped across her table and onto the floor. Since she couldn’t slap her bowl around anymore, my face was a suitable replacement. Next came her indignant screams that I refused to get her more Weetbix after hers was splayed over the floor.

So I did the only thing I could think of and put her straight back to bed. Ignored her cries and enjoyed the peace that ensued no more than 3 minutes later as I crawled back under the covers.

Take 2 at 6am involved my better half getting her up. I had been listening to her talk for 15 minutes so clearly her earlier quiet period was just a power nap. I told my better half it was 5 minutes but I couldn’t bear to get up again and try to the Weetbix dance again. I let him prep the second set of Weetbix.

Which she slapped across her table and onto the floor.  Since she couldn’t slap her bowl around anymore, my face was a suitable replacement since I had, i would later regret, decided I probably should get up. Next came the indignant screams that I refused to get her more Weetbix, yet again, when the dog ate hers.

Against my better instincts, I gave her another chance with some toast. Delightfully this is a less mess substitute, however it swiftly went the way of the Weetbix. After more indignant screams, I yet again did the only thing I could think of and put her straight back to bed, ignored her cries and once again, in no more than 3 minutes, peace ensued. This time I didn’t retreat to the covers and rather my better half and I enjoyed hot coffee, together and actual conversation with many, many finished sentences and trains of though for nearly 2 hours!

Though it was a rocky start to the day we did manage a short trip to the Play Centre before I headed off for some much needed retail therapy and Mum time ! Thanks to V1 and V2 for napping so well in the afternoon for my better half, and to him for taking the kids and giving me the afternoon. I definitely needed some time for myself to solve the shoe and dress problems popping up in the wardrobe! (I even managed some reading on the train so it was a successful day. Even though it was busy, it was busy we things that I wanted to do!)

Author: ReadingMumma

I'm a Mum of 2 who loves reading (when I can find the time!). I'm embarking on the challenge of reading the 2017 Dymocks top 101.

Leave a Reply

