In Someone Else’s Shoes

One morning last week, I was listening to a Mum talk about the challenging morning she’d had since her kids don’t eat Weetbix. (It’s the little things!)

I thoughtlessly responded, “oh wow, mine eat 2 every morning – I’m so lucky breakfast is a cinch!”. Perhaps they paid me back on Mother’s Day by disproving this statement however the best was yet to come.

I convinced myself that it was a bad thing that the kids have the same thing for breakfast every day (sometimes they also have eggs, if we cook them – but it’s usually Weetbix as the staple). I decided to get extra organised before they woke up and cook them some porridge. After all V1 used to love it. Just because my better half and me don’t eat it, doesn’t mean the kids can’t! So i lovingly cooked it up, mixed with a little honey, some yummy banana and lots of creamy milk.

V2 was NOT impressed. It lasted about 30 seconds on her table until she poured it down her front somehow managing to get it on both legs and the stem of the high chair, on both sides of the strap and all over the dog, who was sitting underneath her. I stripped her off and started again. With her Weetbix. Which she ate. Hey – if it’s not broke!

(For what I can only assume is further karma for my comments, when washing her clothes I realised that there were more oats on them than I had anticipated, and my entire washing load was filled with oats. Thereby needing another wash. I don’t have enough time to get the loads done that we have, let alone having to double wash!!)

Next time, when listening to another Mum talking about a challenge, I will simply respond with something along the lines of “that sounds like a horrible morning” – lesson learned!

Author: ReadingMumma

I'm a Mum of 2 who loves reading (when I can find the time!). I'm embarking on the challenge of reading the 2017 Dymocks top 101.

Leave a Reply

