Can We Actually Stop Rushing Around and do “Nothing”?

I’ve come across a few books lately about the importance of slowing down, not using busyness as a measure of popularity and coolness and being comfortable with taking some time to simply do nothing.

This all seems sound advice.  Can’t argue with how much better you feel when you’ve had a quiet, relaxing day doing pretty much nothing.

So with my better half ridiculously sick and still getting dressed for work, and two kids with runny noses and coughs (with V1 actually saying “I’m sick mumma” followed by a sniffle), I suggested maybe we should all take the day and have a nice family day. To which my better half responded “I have too much to do” and, more importantly, “We won’t get to do nothing, it won’t be relaxing”. While the latter sentiment might sound sad, he is right (I know I know, sometimes I can admit he is right- I hope he doesn’t fall off his chair reading this!) It doesn’t mean the days are bad, actually far from it! We have fun wih the kids at the park, in the garden, building train tracks, lego towers or going out for morning tea, amongst other things.

All of these activities require a large amount of our guidance and involvement which means in fact we can’t just take a day to do “nothing”.

It’s a lovely idea in theory. In practical terms, we need to reevaluate what “doing nothing” and “relaxing” means when you have a 1 and a 3 year old.  If the only downtime is sitting on the ground and building a super awesome car transporter out of duplo then I’ll take it. If it’s in the form of throwing the ball around the yard and watching V1 and the dog chase after it (yes our toddler enjoys the game just as much as the dog!) then let’s enjoy that kind of downtime.

Ultimately I’m now on the way to work, ridiculously late after somehow losing 20 minutes just in getting shoes, socks, jumpers, shoes and socks on (yes shoes and socks usually go on at least twice – that’s a good day – in reality most of this time was lost for a code brown for V1 at 7.25am which takes at least 10 minutes since he insists on not having any assistance). Kids are at school and my better half, probably to his detriment and at the sacrifice of his weekend wellness, is at work.

Perhaps we will try to do “nothing” and stop rushing around, on another day. It’s nice to have goals after all!

Author: ReadingMumma

I'm a Mum of 2 who loves reading (when I can find the time!). I'm embarking on the challenge of reading the 2017 Dymocks top 101.

Leave a Reply

