Friday Musings and Highlights

Aside from the obvious things we all know are part of being a Mum, I’m discovering some of the lesser known things that being a Mum often means:

– Waking up in bed with two men (ok, so one is obviously a boy!)

– Attempting to sneak out of bed without waking anyone (my shins are just as bruised as V1’s shins. We have owned our wooden frame bed for 8 years and I still do not know it’s dimensions).

– Giving up on finding workout gear in the noisy wardrobe or the mountain of floor clothing pile (I mean the completely organised stack of clothes that I have of course organised in piles and placed neatly on the floor ready to be put away) and doing yoga next to the heater in a dressing gown and pyjama bottoms (I simply couldn’t find my pyjama top. Hot yoga it was!)

– Leveraging V1’s love of dump trucks to put away washing. It goes on the back of the truck and he runs it from room to room quite literally dumping it out of his dump truck (see earlier note re clothing pile).

– Never getting dressed (or showered) until the last minute before leaving the house. No need to bother since everything ends up covered in Weetbix, yoghurt, mashed pear or surprisingly greasy digestive biscuit crumbs.

– Recognising that some days the only thing you will get to eat is the weetbix, yoghurt, mashed pear or surprisingly greasy digestive crumbs you wipe off your face, hair, Pyjamas or (dare I say it), the floor.

– An oldie but a goodie – never (I mean never, since now we have a puppy who follows me around constantly), going to the toilet alone.

– Getting excited about not having to do daycare drop off and actually being able to get to work before 8am.

These are just a few of the lesser things I’m discovering are all integral aspects of being a Mum!

 

 

Author: ReadingMumma

I'm a Mum of 2 who loves reading (when I can find the time!). I'm embarking on the challenge of reading the 2017 Dymocks top 101.

Leave a Reply

